Ec0168's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

week4 the measurement of human intelligence February 15, 2010

Filed under: CECS 5300 Cognitive Psychology — Echang @ 5:11 pm
Tags:

How do you feel that the measurement of human intelligence has impacted learning in the educational system you are most familiar with?

We have a saying from my country: “You can see as much as you know.”

I think our experiences affect our intelligence which is so called fluid intelligence. From the saying, I can pick out several concepts of cognition. With the words, “you can see” means the new experience of knowledge; it is that you get a new input. What I know is my prior knowledge. The cognitive process occurs very fast from sensory system to long term memory.  I think this is knowledge construction process: I can get information with my sensory system. When I transfer the information to the long term memory, I can be affected by what I know. The intelligence facilitates this process. From this, I can think about what definition of intelligence is. It is better to say its function. I think the intelligence can be an ability of fast integrating information, transferring, and retrieving accurately. How we can measure this all ability. How we can assume the all test takers abilities which can have been developed by various methods are the same?  If someone get higher grade, can we tell they are smarter than others?

Especially higher education, there are many factors which influence the achievement. The score is just number. I think we can’t tell the number means one’s intelligence. Grade can be increased or decreased by condition of test. However, we can tell who is better at which activities. That’s why I am interested in Gardener’s multiple intelligences. I believe we can use multiple intelligences case by case integrating each intelligence.

I am a kind of shy person, but I think I like interaction with people in some reason. I don’t know why…

Therefore, I study something or have something to do, and I make some events involved with intrapersonal intelligence. With interaction, I can do more than I do by myself. For my daughter, I think, she has higher intrapersonal intelligence and language intelligence ( she got higher score in language part from multiple intelligences test in her early age. I am not sure how it was reliable.). I have formed book clubs for her to discuss about stories or writing clubs with her friends, and I have seen she achieved a lot in group study. That’s how I chose the learning environment according to her multiple IQ. 

 

 

One Response to “week4 the measurement of human intelligence”

  1. atrombley Says:

    For some reason the comment that I posted for this week never showed up, so I’ll post again. I like your example of choosing your daughter’s learning environment according to her multiple IQ. Do you think this idea would work in public schools? If you match students up to environments that coorespond to their IQs, what could the potential negative effects be? Would they possibly excel in their area of comfort, but then fail in areas that contradict their intelligence area? Is there a way to build a more well-rounded student?


Leave a Reply

