Ec0168's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

representation April 13, 2010

Filed under: CECS 5300 Cognitive Psychology — Echang @ 1:17 pm
Tags:

Activity 3: Blog Reflection – Go here: http://reliques.online.fr/detroit/detroit03.html
http://www.marchandmeffre.com/detroit/index.html


Reflect on the images (click on the boxes on the left to navigate the Detroit pictures.

What knowledge is represented in these images?

Since I am not American, I don’t know much about Detroit. Nevertheless, I learned that Detroit is famous of automobile industry.  To get more information I can read our last online meeting. However, while reading it carefully now, I thought I don’t need to read it first. For here I need to describe how images work for my knowledge representation.

The images are very dark and gloomy. I just found out that the city was ruined. However with details of buildings, I can say Detroit had a beautiful cultural background and was greatly civilized before. The size of the buildings is very big, so I can say there were many people in the city. From the decorative parts of building look classic, so the city was very old and seems tobe proud of traditions.

What knowledge is lost in these images?

With decayed buildings and destroyed city images make me think that Detroit is not a big city any more. I am losing its good reputation.

What could make them better as knowledge representations?

If there are news clips or image of unemployed or bad condition of the city life would be express the condition of the city in more detail way. From the vyew discussion, we need more stories behind the city to understand and have clear representation about the Detroit.

 

Leave a Reply

