Ec0168's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Time to elaboration May 3, 2010

This is from my posting of a course work I am doing this semester. I think this is the starting poing of my future research.

Actually I read the article ( E learning and ideology- a post modern paradigm or liberal education reborn? by Mauren Spencer, 2004) several times, but I could not catch any clue to answer for your question. From easier article, I grasped some concept of Postmodernism, but I had a question: Is there any conflict between learner-based education and equality or focusing more on community?

I wanted to ask this question first. I found out that postmodernist education is about learner-centered and discusses community more. How people pay attention to more community, discussing diversity? Isn’t it chaotic for community to consider diversity or individual?

Today, I watched a movie, “The blind side,” and I could find all postmodernists who concern about the poor and homeless black boy, Michael, protecting his blind side.

You already knew that the movie is based on true story of Michael Oher.

Here’s some review about it.

http://www.mcnblogs.com/thehotblog/archives/2009/11/review_the_blin.html

Even though I don’t know much about the rule of football, I want to say the blind side as a ZPD here. In the movie, most helpers of Michael are supporting him, considering his specific features. The coach and Leigh found out Michael’s strong point and helped him develop his strength in sport. The tutor helped Michael how to express himself in writing, inspiring him emotionally and naturally. Some teachers let Michael learn through auditory instructions to improve his learning skills. All members of community help an individual, believing his potential parts. Now my question is solved. Focusing on a potential individual, community makes a minor part alive and improve which may be destroyed or lost under social unfair bias or miserable reality. In this case, the learner can be raised through community’s efforts. The success of the community is built by the success of the individual. That’s why we need to focus an individual to develop our community.

I think education should occur in the blind side where cannot be easily seen, but has potential growth. Blind side, it may destroy an individual or community if it is attacked. However, it can have hope if it is well protected. From there, learners, teachers, and community can be connected.

I want to be a protector and a helper for students’ blind side.

 

Then one of my peer gave feedback like this:

 

 

Eunjoo, I love your comparison with The Blind Side. What his parents and community did for him in spite of controversy was astounding! However, as I observe how much it took to focus on the specialized needs of one student, I wonder how a teacher is supposed to do this in a classroom full of students, where more than one might be a Michael Oher.

And then I realized what I should do as a instructional designer.

I replied like this:

That’s right. It is really difficult to take care of all students, but I think learning technology facilitates functions of teaching and learning.

Without these technologies, how dare I  talk with you like this? I think if we have more comfortable and elaborated communication methods for more learners with various barriers, learning and teaching would be more beneficial without only teachers’ efforts or sactrifice.

I think it ‘s time to think about elaboration for learning technology.

 

Leave a Reply

